• The twenty nine movements of this pattern refer to the 29th Infantry division where TaeKwon-Do developed into maturity. The 29th Infantry division was headed by General Choi Hung Hi shortly after the second world war and was effectively the "guinea pig" for his new martial arts system.
  • Hwa-Rang is named after Hwa Rang youth group which originated in the Silla Dynasty in the early 7th Century. This group eventually became the actual driving force behind the unification of the three Kingdoms of Korea.
  • Black represents maturity and proficiency in Taekwondo, therefore the opposite of white. Black also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.
  • Korean terminology Kicks: Ap Chagi = Front Kick, Yop Chagi = Side Kick Dollyo Chagi = Turning Kick
  • Korean terminiology Blocks: Makgi = block, Rising = Chookyo Middle = Kaunde (ka-un-day) Low = Najunde (na-jun-day)
  • Korean terminology Strikes: Taerigi (tay-ri-gee) = strike  Sonkal = Knifehand  Palkup  = elblow
  •  Son Sonkut Tulgi = finger tip strike

List of set sparring required for this grading.

  • Three step 1-10
  • Two step    1-8
  • One step No. 1-3 (and 3 of your own)
  • Kicking one step 1 x front kick
  • Padwork





Korea was originally made up of three kingdoms: Goguryeo, Baekje and Silla, each governed by separate dynasties. The Hwa Rang youth group were an elite fighting force from the Silla dynasty and were trained in martial arts, archery and weapons. They developed their own warrior codes, similar to the japanese samurai class.

Kim Yoo Sin led the Hwa Rang Youth Group in many battles, eventually overcoming the other 2 kingdoms, leading to Korea finally becoming one unified country.